EBRAINS is building the platform needed to enable a new era in brain research. Here you can find more information about the EBRAINS effort to build a shared digital brain research infrastructure for the EU.


EBRAINS is a platform providing tools and services which can be used to address challenges in brain research and brain-inspired technology development. Its components are designed with, by, and for researchers. The tools assist scientists to collect, analyse, share, and integrate brain data, and to perform modelling and simulation of brain function.

EBRAINS’ goal is to accelerate the effort to understand human brain function and disease.

This EBRAINS web platform is the entry point for researchers to discover EBRAINS services. The services were developed by, and are powered by the EU-funded Human Brain Project.

EBRAINS is open to integrating brain research technologies developed elsewhere and seeks collaboration with other research infrastructures. Contact support@ebrains.eu with inquiries.


EBRAINS is an AISBL (Association Internationale Sans But Lucratif) under Belgian Law. Its mission is to coordinate the Human Brain Project (HBP) in SGA3 (2020 - 2023) and to build the future of the EBRAINS Research Infrastructure.

The HBP’s explicit goal is to build the EBRAINS research infrastructure and make it available to the scientific research community and other user groups, as a beneficial legacy that will continue to help advance knowledge and understanding of the brain after the end of the HBP FET Flagship in 2023. The EBRAINS AISBL will play a key role in bringing about that transformation and will provide the coordination nucleus of the post-FET Flagship EBRAINS structure.

An Association Internationale Sans But Lucratif, or International not-for-profit association, is the legal term used in Belgium for an internationally acting non-profit organization based on Belgian law and located in Belgium.

Governing Bodies

• General Assembly
• Board of Directors
• Management Board

Board of Directors


Board of Directors Member Institution
Asunción GÓMEZ PÉREZ Universidad Politécnica de Madrid
Eugenio GUGLIELMELLI Consiglio Nazionale delle Ricerche
Gunnar LANDGREN KTH Royal Institute of Technology
Wolfgang MARQUARDT Forschungszentrum Jülich
André SYROTA Commissariat à l'énergie atomique
Frode VARTDAL University of Oslo
Martin VETTERLI École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne


Full Members


Institution Country Representative
Universidad Politécnica de Madrid Spain Asunción GÓMEZ PÉREZ
KTH Royal Institute of Technology Sweden Gunnar LANDGREN
Forschungszentrum Jülich Germany Wolfgang MARQUARDT
Commissariat à l'énergie atomique France André SYROTA
University of Oslo Norway Frode VARTDAL
École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne Switzerland Martin VETTERLI
Consiglio Nazionale delle Ricerche Italy Eugenio GUGLIELMELLI



Pawel Swieboda


There are no job openings at present at EBRAINS but jobs will be listed here whenthey become available.

Access all EBRAINS services